[IMC-Boston-Editorial] Plastic surgery

sharpie at riseup.net sharpie at riseup.net
Tue Jan 24 08:05:46 PST 2006


I would like to second Sofia, if you're willing to contact him directly
Jamie, that would be awesome!

Brian

> Hi Jamie,
>   It's definitely worth looking into it. Maybe it's a mix of independent
> news and "for profit"...  Their articles do look interesting,  though. I
> think it's was fine to hide this one, personally.  Yes,  and contacting
> him directly sounds like a good idea.
>
>   cheers,
>   Sofia
>
> "visnusdream at juno.com" <visnusdream at juno.com> wrote:  Hi all,
>   I'm the one who hid the plastic surgery "article." It was  not an
> article at all, it was simply a link, with a brief  description, to a
> recording of an interview with a plastic surgeon  who sells people
> plastic surgery vacations. I followed the link to the  World podcast
> website, and I followed the link to the doctor's  organizations website.
> He was promoting the interview as the top thing  on his company's site.
> I don't know much about the World  pod-casting folks, but their whole
> website appeared to be people  self promoting. Some of the books seemed
> to be political or whatever,  but it was clearly not a news site; its a
> place to get a message out  about something you are making a profit
> from. I would love to  read a well researched article about plastic
> surgery but an interview  with some doctor trying to make a buck is just
> plain  advertising. Please, someone else follow these links.
>   http://smallworldpodcast.com/?p=295
>   http://www.cosmeticvacations.com/
>   I think this post also falls under our policy against blog  links
> without content. Next time I'll just code it as 'empty.' the only
> problem is we have not articulated this new policy on the site.
>   I'll be happy to write the person a letter and try to explain the
> situation. Just let me know what you guys think. If I was wrong, I'm
> wrong. Please, let me know. We have let the World pod-caster folks post
> stuff without looking into it, but when I did, I was sorely
> disappointed.
>   I wonder if these folks are "for profit." How do things end up  on their
> site? they have a link to Democracy Now and some other things  that look
> interesting. If I am wrong about them or if you guys disagree  with my
> decision, I'll write a letter of apology and re-post the  article.
>   Just let me know how you guys feel.
>   Peace,
>   Jamie
> _______________________________________________
> Boston-editorial mailing list
> Boston-editorial at lists.indymedia.org
> http://lists.indymedia.org/mailman/listinfo/boston-editorial
>
>
>
>
> ---------------------------------
> Yahoo! Photos
>  Got holiday prints? See all the ways to get quality prints in your hands
> ASAP._______________________________________________
> Boston-editorial mailing list
> Boston-editorial at lists.indymedia.org
> http://lists.indymedia.org/mailman/listinfo/boston-editorial
>




More information about the Boston-editorial mailing list